call for help now
Логотип EXPERT-MERCURY EXPERT-MERCURY ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICE OFFICIAL SITE
FOR ANY MERCURY SPILL
CALL
MERCURY DISPOSAL SERVICE №1

How does potassium permanganate affect mercury?

How does potassium permanganate affect mercury?

Those who are used to acting the old fashioned way and washing off any dangerous substance with improvised means hardly ever thought about how potassium permanganate affects mercury. At the same time, you can find a lot of advice on the net on what to do if a thermometer breaks, and they often contain a pink solution familiar from childhood, which a couple of decades ago was considered almost a panacea for all diseases, starting with skin problems and ending with angina and poisoning. However, potassium permanganate was not only treated, but also disinfected surfaces from any contamination. Is this remedy so effective with a broken thermometer and how does potassium permanganate affect р

Those who are used to acting the old fashioned way and washing off any dangerous substance with improvised means hardly ever thought about how potassium permanganate affects mercury. At the same time, you can find a lot of advice on the net on what to do if a thermometer breaks, and they often contain a pink solution familiar from childhood, which a couple of decades ago was considered almost a panacea for all diseases, starting with skin problems and ending with angina and poisoning. However, potassium permanganate was not only treated, but also disinfected surfaces from any contamination. Is this remedy so effective with a broken thermometer and how does potassium permanganate affect mercury? Let’s dispel the myths!

What is potassium permanganate?

Before you understand how potassium permanganate affects mercury, you need to figure out what kind of substance it is. Potassium permanganate, or potassium permanganate, is dark purple crystals that quickly dissolve in water, coloring it in a pleasant pink-violet hue of varying intensity. It has long been used as an antiseptic, and this approach is justified in most cases. True, this useful property has nothing to do with mercury: unfortunately, even the most concentrated solution of potassium permanganate cannot neutralize particles of a poisonous metal, and even more so its vapor.

How do potassium permanganate and mercury interact?

To understand how potassium permanganate affects mercury, no special education is required – a school chemistry course is enough. The reaction between these substances is a complex process that is impossible in domestic conditions, and even more so with arbitrary dilution of potassium permanganate crystals with water. Demercurization is possible only with a solution of potassium permanganate with hydrochloric acid.

The method is based on the interaction of mercury with free chlorine formed by the reaction of potassium permanganate with hydrochloric acid. As a result, a low-toxic, water-insoluble calomel is formed:

2KMnO4 + 16HCl = 2KCl + 2MnCI2 + 5Cl2 + 8H20;

2Hg + Cl2 = Hg2Cl2

Calomel left in the air decomposes over time with the release of metallic mercury, therefore, after demercurization, the treated surfaces must be washed with special. solution – Source

Therefore, trying to conduct an independent demercurization with potassium permanganate, you are only wasting your time and endangering your health. All these measures will lead to are indelible dirty purple stains on furniture, carpeting and other surfaces that you have to treat. At the same time, particles of mercury that have been driven into the fabric or upholstery pile, under the baseboards and into the cracks, will not go anywhere – they must be neutralized professionally, otherwise they will pollute the air in the apartment. Therefore, it is better to immediately contact Mercury Expert , rather than risk your own health and harbor illusions about independent measures!

expert rtuti

Expert opinion:

Unfortunately, the Internet carries a lot of false information. Potassium permanganate, unfortunately, alone is not able to have an effect on mercury. Only as part of special solutions.
Laboratory assistant of the highest category 
Skorobogataya Olga

      When ordering online discount 5%



      CHOOSE A SERVICE:

Вызвать помощь
Логотип ЭКСПЕРТ-РТУТИ ЭКСПЕРТ-РТУТИ ЭКОЛОГИЧЕСКАЯ СЛУЖБА ОФИЦИАЛЬНЫЙ САЙТ
ПРИ ЛЮБОМ РОЗЛИВЕ РТУТИ
ЗВОНИТЕ
СЛУЖБА ЛИКВИДАЦИИ РТУТИ №1

Как влияет марганцовка на ртуть?

Как влияет марганцовка на ртуть?

Те, кто привык действовать по старинке и смывать любое опасное вещество подручными средствами, вряд ли хоть раз задумывались, как влияет марганцовка на ртуть. Вместе с тем, в сети можно найти множество советов о том, как поступить, если разбился градусник, и в них частенько фигурирует знакомый с детства розовый раствор, который еще пару десятилетий назад считался чуть ли не панацеей от всех болезней, начиная с кожных проблем и заканчивая ангиной и отравлениями. Впрочем, марганцовкой не только лечились, но и дезинфицировали поверхности от любого загрязнения. Так ли эффективно это средство при разбившемся градуснике и как влияет марганцовка на ртуть? Давайте развеем мифы!

Что такое марганцовка?

Прежде чем понять, как влияет марганцовка на ртуть, необходимо разобраться, что это за вещество. Марганцовка, или калия перманганат представляет собой темно-лиловые кристаллики, которые быстро растворяются в воде, окрашивая ее в приятный розово-фиолетовый оттенок различной интенсивности. Ее с давних времен используют в качестве антисептика, и этот подход в большинстве случаев оправдан. Правда, это полезное свойство не имеет никакого отношения к ртути: к сожалению, нейтрализовать частички ядовитого металла и уж тем более его пары не под силу даже самому концентрированному раствору марганцовки.

Как взаимодействует калия перманганат и ртуть?

Чтобы разобраться, как влияет марганцовка на ртуть, не требуется специального образования – достаточно школьного курса химии. Реакция между этими веществами – сложный процесс, который невозможен в бытовых условиях, и уж тем более при произвольном разведении кристалликов калия перманганата водой. Демеркуризация возможна только раствором калия перманганата с соляной кислотой.

Метод основан на взаимодействии ртути со свободным хлором, образующимся при реакции перманганата калия с соляной кислотой. В результате образуется малотоксичная нерастворимая в воде каломель:

2KMnO4 + 16HCl = 2KCl + 2MnCI2 + 5Cl2 + 8H20;

2Hg + Cl2 = Hg2Cl2

Каломель, оставленная на воздухе, со временем разлагается с выделением металлической ртути, поэтому после демеркуризации обработанные поверхности обязательно промывают спец. раствором — Источник

Поэтому, пытаясь провести самостоятельную демеркуризацию марганцовкой, вы лишь тратите свое время и подвергаете здоровье опасности. Все, к чему приведут подобные меры – несмываемые грязно-лиловые разводы на мебели, ковровом покрытии и других поверхностях, которые вам придется обработать. При этом частички ртути, вбившиеся в ткань или ворс обивки, под плинтусы и в щели, никуда не денутся – их необходимо нейтрализовать профессионально, иначе они будут загрязнять воздух в квартире. Поэтому лучше сразу обратиться в Эксперт-Ртути , чем рисковать собственным здоровьем и питать иллюзии относительно самостоятельных мер!

expert rtuti

Мнение эксперта:

К огромному сожалению, интернет несет очень много недостоверной информации. Марганцовокислый калий, к сожалению самостоятельно не способен оказать воздействие на ртуть. Только в составе специальных растворов.
Лаборант высшей категории 
Скоробогатая Ольга

      При заказе онлайн скидка 5%



      ВЫБЕРИТЕ УСЛУГУ: